Tennessee Real Estate License Requirements Having taught thousands of aspiring agents and brokers in Tennessee, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the state's license requirements. Tennessee Real Estate Express courses have earned an average of 4.4 out of 5 stars from 1930 reviews. Home > Get My License > Get your Tennessee Real Estate License > Tennessee Real Estate License Requirements SHOP LICENSINGLICENSE REQUIREMENTSGo Learn what's required to get your real estate license in Tennessee This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum real estate education requirements established by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission. We recommend you contact the Commission for more detailed information or changes. Are you planning to obtain real estate licenses in multiple states? If so, we recommend you check each state's requirements. General Tennessee real estate license requirements You must be at least 18 years old, have your high school diploma or GED, and be a resident of Tennessee for at least 45 days prior to applying for your real estate license. Additionally, you must take care of the following: Complete 60-Hour Pre-license Principles Course in order to take the Tennessee state exam Complete a 30-hour Pre-license Course for New Affiliates to apply for your license. Can be completed prior to taking the licensing exam. Pass state exam by scoring at least a 70% Within six months of passing the state exam, pay $100, have sponsoring broker sign license application, and send proof of errors and omissions (E&O) insurance Be sure to visit the Tennessee Real Estate Commission's website for the most up-to-date information If you are a time-share salesperson, you must complete a 30-hour training program covering the fundamentals of the Tennessee Time-Share Act, compiled in title 66, chapter 32, part 1, and related topics. Neither post-license nor continuing education classes are required. shop courses How to submit the Tennessee real estate affiliate broker application If you're applying for an affiliate broker's license, you need to send the following documentation to the Tennessee Real Estate Commission: Application with picture -- this is obtained at the testing center upon successful completion of the examination Proof of high school graduation Proof of completion of pre-license education Proof of errors and omissions insurance policy Payment of all fees due Tennessee real estate broker license requirements In order to get your real estate broker license, you must have an active license that meets one of the following criteria: Actively licensed for 24 months, if licensed as an affiliate broker on or before May 12, 1988 Actively licensed for 36 months, if licensed as an affiliate broker after May 12, 1988 Actively licensed for 24 months, if you have a bachelor's degree with a major in real estate Continuing education credits totaling 120 hours; of these, 30 hours must be from a real estate broker license class taken at a school approved by the Commission Be sure to visit the Tennessee Real Estate Commission's website for the most up-to-date information. How to submit a Tennessee real estate broker application If you're applying for a broker's license, you need to send the following documentation to Tennessee Real Estate Commission: Application with picture -- this is obtained at the testing center upon successful completion of the Tennessee broker's exam Proof of errors and omissions (E&O) insurance policy Payment of all fees due Tennessee real estate post-license requirements Brokers licensed after January 1, 2001 must complete 120 additional hours of Commission-approved education before the third anniversary of their broker license. If you do not comply, your licence will not be renewed. Brokers licensed after January 1, 2005 must complete continuing education requirements after completing the 120-hour post-license requirement. If you have any questions about the continuing education requirements, visit the Tennessee Real Estate Commission website or call 615-741-2273 or 800-342-4031. Tennessee non-resident license requirements If you received your real estate license from another state, you must pass the Tennessee (state law) portion of the exam for the same type of license you have in your resident state. You will need to take care of the following: Download Worksheet A, which will assist you in determining your requirements for seeking a Tennessee real estate license; you must send this completed worksheet to the Commission Send a "Certified License History" from all the states where you hold or have held a real estate license Watch for a notification from the Commission of your requirements. Be aware that the firm and principal broker where you are affiliated must also hold an active Tennessee real estate license Tennessee fingerprinting requirements The state of Tennessee requires all real estate affiliate broker, broker, timeshare salesperson and acquisition agents to submit their fingerprints for review. You may download the instructions and the form from the Tennessee Real Estate Commission's website. Tennessee qualifying questions The Tennessee Real Estate Commission will require you to answer a series of qualifying questions. If you answer yes to any of the questions, you will lower your chances of qualifying for your desired license. The Tennessee real estate commission won't allow anyone on parole or probation to be scheduled for examination unless two years have passed from the date of expiration of probation, conviction, or release from incarceration, whichever is later. The qualifying questions: Do you now hold or have you ever held a real estate or timeshare license in Tennessee or any other state? If you hold or have held a license in another state(s), you must obtain a license certification from each state in which you are or were licensed. This application will not be processed until the certification(s) is received. Have you ever been refused a license or had a license revoked, suspended, reprimanded or fined by any federal, state or local government? (Do not include motor vehicle license.) If you voluntarily surrendered a license at a time that disciplinary action was pending against you or you were under investigation by a licensing body, governmental agency or professional organization, you must provide information regarding the license surrender. Have you ever been refused or had a real estate or timeshare salesperson license revoked, suspended, reprimanded or fined? Have you ever had a complaint filed against you with any regulatory agency or with any court? Have you ever pled guilty, pled nolo contendere or been convicted of any criminal offense? (Include traffic violations that are alcohol or drug related.) Note: reckless driving and driving under the influence (DUI) are misdemeanors and must be disclosed If you answer, "yes" to the question about criminal offense, the Commission requires you to submit a certified copy of your conviction record in addition to an affidavit providing details of each charge You may petition the Commission prior to taking or completing pre-license education and/or the licensing examination by submitting the "Application for Decision Regarding Prior Criminal Conviction(s) and/or Disciplinary Sanctions(s)," which can be downloaded here The Commission will review this form, along with all requested documentation, and notify you of its decision The documentation described in each case above will be required by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission at the time a candidate passes the examination and wishes to apply for a license. The information should not be sent to the exam testing company PSI, nor should it be brought to the examination center. Commission rule does not allow anyone on parole or probation to be scheduled for an examination. Candidates must be off parole or probation for a minimum of two years. Candidates who violate this policy will not be licensed and will not be entitled to a refund of the examination fee. Good to know Other insights about getting your Tennessee real estate license If you do not renew your E&O insurance, your license will be suspended If your license is suspended due to delinquent student loan payments or child support, you will need to contact the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation at 866-291-2675. For child support issues, you may also call 615-313-4880.