Iowa Real Estate License Requirements Having taught thousands of aspiring agents and brokers in Iowa, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the state's license requirements. Iowa Real Estate Express courses have earned an average of 4.3 out of 5 stars from 54 reviews. Home > Get My License > Get your Iowa Real Estate License > Iowa Real Estate License Requirements SHOP LICENSINGLICENSE REQUIREMENTSGo Learn what's required to get your real estate license in Iowa This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum real estate education requirements established by the Iowa Real Estate Commission. We recommend you contact the Commission for more detailed information or changes. Are you planning to obtain real estate licenses in multiple states? If so, we recommend you check each state's requirements. Iowa real estate license requirements General Requirements You need to be at least 18 years old to receive a real estate license in Iowa. There are no residency or citizenship requirements. You’ll also need to undergo a criminal history and background investigation. Keep in mind this process alone can take up to a minimum of four weeks, possibly more, and can be started many months ahead of submitting your license application. Criminal history backgrounds are valid for 210 calendar days. Education requirements Complete a 60-hour pre-license course Complete the following three courses: 12 hours of Buying Practices 12 hours of Listing Practices 12 hours of Developing Professionalism and Ethical Practices You may take the courses in any order. All the courses must have been completed less than 12 months prior to the time the Commission's receives your completed application. Application requirements You must pass your state exam in order to receive a license. Exam results are valid until the last working day of the sixth month following the exam pass date. For example, a test passed on any day in January is valid until June 30 of that same year. You will need to submit a completed application, which you will receive from the testing service when you pass the exams. At this time, you must be sponsored by broker. You cannot apply for an inactive license. shop courses Iowa real estate broker license requirements Experience requirements You must have 24 months of active salesperson experience before you can apply for a broker license. Education requirements You must have 24 months of active salesperson experience and complete 72 hours of broker pre-license education within the preceding 24 months of passing the state and national portions of the examinations. Broker pre-license courses: Contract Law and Contract Writing, 8 hours Iowa Real Estate Trust Accounts, 8 hours Principles of Appraising and Market Analysis, 8 hours Real Estate Law and Agency Law, 8 hours Real Estate Finance, 8 hours Federal and State Laws Affecting Iowa Practice, 8 hours Real Estate Office Organization, 8 hours Real Estate Office Administration, 8 hours Human Resources Management, 8 hours Exam requirements You must successfully pass the state and national portions of the examination. To be eligible for the exam, you must have already completed the 72 hours of education. Both portions of the exam must be valid at the time the Commission's office receives your application. Exams are valid until the last working day of the sixth month following the exam pass date. For example, a test passed on any day in January is valid until June 30 of that same year. Other requirements Undergo a criminal history and background investigation. Provide verification of current errors and omissions insurance. Include current salesperson wall license with the application. Brokers who have never renewed as a salesperson must provide documentation of attendance of the following three courses: 12 hours Buying Practices, 12 hours Listing Practices and 12 hours Developing Professionalism and Ethical Practices. (Not applicable to salespersons originally licensed after December 31, 2008.) Iowa real estate license: reciprocal requirements Iowa’s reciprocity agreement with nine states means you can obtain your Iowa real estate salesperson or broker’s license even if you are not a resident of the state. You must meet the following requirements: Be a resident of Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, North Dakota or West Virginia Have received your original license from that state Have your Iowa license assigned to the same real estate company that holds your license in one of the nine states Follow these steps to obtain your license: Submit to a state and national criminal history background check through the Iowa Real Estate Commission. Contact your state licensing agency to request certificate of license history (letter of good standing) be sent to you. This document must also include the method of licensure (exam, reciprocity, other, etc.) and what real estate company holds your license. Once you have your certificate of license history and have learned that your criminal history background check is complete, you can submit a completed application for licensure. Be sure to attach the following to your application: Your original certificate of license history Proof of errors and omissions (E&O) insurance coverage in Iowa Licensing fee ($125 for salespersons, $170 for brokers) Broker officers will also need to license their firm if the firm is not yet licensed in Iowa. Please contact the Iowa Real Estate Commission office at 515.725.9022 for more information. If you have any questions about real estate licensing, please contact a licensing specialist at 515-725-9022 or by email to firstname.lastname@example.org. If you do not meet all the requirements for licensure by reciprocity, see how to receive licensure by Administrative Rule 5.3. Iowa real estate firm licensing requirements If you operate as a partnership, association, corporation, professional corporation or professional limited liability company, then you are required to obtain a real estate firm license with the Iowa Real Estate Commission prior to providing real estate services. At least one partner, officer or member must have or obtain an Iowa broker's license. The firm is also required to have current E&O insurance coverage for Iowa transactions. To learn more about real estate licensing in Iowa, visit the Iowa Professional Licensing Bureau web page. Iowa real estate license continuing education requirements All salespersons and all brokers must complete 36 hours of required continuing education every 36 months, prior to December 31 of their renewal year: Mandatory hours: 12 Eight hours of Law Four hours of Ethics Elective hours: 24 Twelve of the 36 total hours must be completed in a classroom setting. Good to know Other insights about getting your Iowa real estate license If you have an active license, the state of Iowa requires you to carry uninterrupted Errors & Ommissions (E&O) insurance coverage. Proof of coverage must be provided with all new applications, when re-activating an inactive license to active status if the license has been inactive for more than 20 days, and if selected for a random E&O audit by the Iowa Real Estate Commission. Proof of coverage is also requested to be included with transfers. Visit the Iowa Professional Licensing Bureau’s E&O page to learn about obtaining insurance.