Colorado Real Estate License Requirements Having taught thousands of aspiring brokers in Colorado, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the state's license requirements. Colorado Real Estate Express courses have earned an average of 3.8 out of 5 stars from 1703 reviews. Home > Get My License > Get your Colorado Real Estate License > Colorado Real Estate License Requirements SHOP LICENSINGLICENSE REQUIREMENTSGo Learn what's required to get your real estate license in Colorado This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum requirements established by the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies, Division of Real Estate. We recommend you contact the agency for more detailed information. Are you planning to obtain real estate licenses in multiple states? If so, we recommend you check each state's requirements. Colorado real estate broker license requirements General Requirements To get licensed in Colorado, you must be at least 18 years of age. Education requirements To be licensed in Colorado, you must complete a minimum of 168 hours of pre-licensing education and pass both the state and national portion of the Colorado real estate broker exam. Real Estate Law and Practice (48 hours) Colorado Contracts and Regulations (48 hours) Trust Accounts and Record Keeping (8 hours) Current Legal Issues (8 hours) Real Estate Closings (24 hours) Practical Applications (32 hours) If you already hold a real estate broker license in another state or jurisdiction, or if you are a licensed attorney, the pre-licensing education and examination requirements will vary. You can check the education and examination requirements for a new Colorado broker license by reviewing the license qualifications grid. Exam requirements The current exam vendor for the Colorado Division of Real Estate is PSI. To make an exam reservation, please visit PSI's website or call PSI's Candidate Care Center at 800-733-9267. Only qualified applicants may sit for the exam, and you will be required to sign an affidavit of exam eligibility at the exam site. Please note that you must submit your new license application to the Colorado Division of Real Estate within 365 days of successfully passing the exam. shop courses Colorado real estate license: continuing education requirements As the real estate industry changes, you'll need to stay on top of the trends, laws, contract changes and practice requirements. All active real estate brokers need to complete 24 hours of continuing education during each 3-year license cycle. Colorado Real Estate Brokers must complete 24 hours of continuing education every three years. Twelve of those hours are approved elective credit courses. The other 12 hours are comprimised of the 4-hour Annual Commission Update Course, outlined below. Colorado Annual Commission Update Course requirements Every year the Commission develops a 4-hour Annual Commission Update Course that covers important information about recent regulatory changes and practice issues. Active real estate brokers must take the course each year and pass the exam. Because the course has important information about statutes and rules promulgated by the Commission, real estate brokers are urged to attend the course early in the calendar year. Alternatives to meeting Colorado's continuing education requirement The Annual Commission Update courses are mandatory. The state offers these alternatives; be sure to check with the Real Estate Commission about specific requirements. Take the Colorado 24 hour Broker Reactivation Course (permitted once every other license cycle) Pass the state portion of the Colorado Broker Exam Take the 48 hour Colorado Contracts and Requirements and 24 hour Real Estate Closings courses for a total of 72 hours Reactivating an inactive Colorado real estate license If your license has been inactive for longer than 36 months, you must complete either the state portion of the Colorado Broker's Exam or 48 Hours in Colorado Contracts and Regulations and 24 hours in Real Estate Closings for a total of 72 hours. If you have any questions about the continuing education requirements, please call 303-894-2166 or visit the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies, Division of Real Estate website. Good to know Other insights about getting your Colorado real estate license If you take four versions of the update course during the license cycle, the fourth class may be counted toward the elective credit requirement. It may not be used for credit in the next license cycle.