How to Get Your Real Estate License in Washington Do you want to become a real estate agent and get a Washington Real Estate License? Real Estate Express taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in Washington, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the Washington real estate license requirements. Washington Real Estate Express courses have earned an average of 4.2 out of 5 stars from 1148 reviews. Home > Get My License > Get your Washington Real Estate License > Washington Real Estate License Requirements SHOP LICENSINGLICENSE REQUIREMENTSGo Learn what's required to get your real estate license in Washington This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum real estate education requirements established by the Washington State Department of Licensing. We recommend you contact the Department for more detailed information or changes. Are you planning to obtain real estate licenses in multiple states? If so, we recommend you check each state's requirements. General Washington real estate license requirements You must be at least 18 years of age and have your high school diploma or equivalent in order to receive your real estate license in Washington. You'll also need a minimum of three years of full-time experience as a salesperson in Washington or in another jurisdiction with comparable requirements. To qualify for a broker's license, you must also: Successfully complete 90 hours of approved real estate education within two years before applying for the exam including: A 60-hour course in Real Estate Fundamentals A 30-hour course in Real Estate Practices Pass the broker's exam Learn how to schedule an exam and what to bring to the testing center by visiting the Washington broker's exam page shop courses Renew Washington real estate broker license Every two years, you'll need to renew your broker's license. You can renew your license online, by mail or at an office. The Washington State Department of Licensing website covers everything you need to know to renew your broker's license. Washington real estate continuing education: first renewalThe requirements are different the first time that you renew your license than for subsequent renewals. 30-hour Advanced Practices Course 30-hour Real Estate Law Course 30 hours of approved continuing education, including a 3-hour Core Course The hours must be completed after the date of first licensure Washington real estate continuing education: subsequent renewalHere are the requirements for subsequent renewals. 30 hours of approved continuing education, including a 3-hour Core Course A minimum of 15 hours must be completed within 24 months of your renewal date You may also submit up to 15 hours of unused continuing education that was completed within 48 months of your renewal date Washington real estate continuing education: inactive renewalThe Washington State Department of Licensing does not require continuing education to renew an inactive license. If you want to activate your license, you may need to meet the education requirements for an active license Good to knowEvery six years, you'll need to submit your fingerprints with your active license renewal. The Washington State Department of Licensing will let you know when it's time to get fingerprinted.