Virginia Real Estate License Requirements Having taught thousands of aspiring agents and brokers in Virginia, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the state's license requirements. Virginia Real Estate Express courses have earned an average of 4.4 out of 5 stars from 744 reviews. Home > Get My License > Get your Virginia Real Estate License > Virginia Real Estate License Requirements SHOP LICENSINGALL VIRGINIA COURSESLICENSE REQUIREMENTSGo Learn what's required to get your real estate license in Virginia This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum real estate education requirements established by the Virginia Real Estate Commission. We recommend you contact the Commission for more detailed information or changes. Are you planning to obtain real estate licenses in multiple states? If so, we recommend you check each state's requirements. General Virginia real estate license requirements You must be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma or its equivalent, and have either a social security number or Virginia DMV Control Number in order to apply for a real estate license in Virginia. Additionally, you must take care of the following education/experience requirements: Salespersons - complete 60 hours in the principles of real estate and pass the state and national portions of the salesperson examination Brokers - complete 180 hours of education, pass the state, and national portions of the broker examination, and submit verification of experience Brokers - be actively engaged as a salesperson for 36 out of the 48 months preceding application for licensure For more information about how to apply for a real estate license, visit: http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/MainSite/Content/Boards/Real_Estate/re%20process.pdf shop courses Virginia real estate salesperson post-license requirementsAll new salesperson licensees must complete a Board-approved 30-hour post-license education course within one year of obtaining their salesperson licenses. The 30-hour post-license education program consists of the following eight courses: Fair Housing, ADA and Civil Rights (2 hours) Real Estate Law and Regulations (8 hours) Ethics and Standards of Conduct (3 hours) Current Industry Issues and Trends (2 hours) Agency Law (3 hours) Contract Writing (6 hours) Risk Management (3 hours) Escrow Requirements (3 hours) Virginia salesperson real estate continuing educationExperienced salespersons must complete 16 hours of continuing education courses to renew their licenses. Eight of these hours are elective courses. The remaining eight hours must be completed with the following courses: 3 hours in Ethics & Standards of Conduct 2 hours in Fair Housing 1 hour in Legal Updates & Emerging Trends 1 hour in Real Estate Agency 1 hour in Real Estate Contracts Virginia broker real estate continuing educationBrokers must complete 24 hours of Continuing Education courses to renew their licenses. Eight of these hours are elective. The remaining 16 hours must be completed with the following courses: 8 hours in Broker Management & Agent Supervision 3 hours in Ethics & Standards of Conduct 2 hours in Fair Housing 1 hour in Legal Updates & Emerging Trends 1 hour in Real Estate Agency 1 hour in Real Estate Contracts These continuing education requirements also apply to inactive brokers and salespersons who apply to activate their licenses. If you have any questions about the continuing education requirements, please contact Licensing Section of the Virginia Real Estate Board at 804-367-8526, the Education Section of the Virginia Real Estate Board at 804-367-2406, or visit their website at Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation. Good to know Other insights about getting your Virginia real estate license States continually update their requirements. Before taking an exam, check with the state to review the licensing requirements.