Texas Real Estate License Requirements Having taught thousands of aspiring agents and brokers in Texas, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the state's license requirements. Texas Real Estate Express courses have earned an average of 4.3 out of 5 stars from 6805 reviews. Home > Get My License > Get your Texas Real Estate License > Texas Real Estate License Requirements SHOP LICENSINGALL TEXAS COURSESLICENSE REQUIREMENTSGo Learn what's required to get your real estate license in Texas This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum real estate education requirements established by the Texas Real Estate Commission. We recommend you contact the Commission for more detailed information or changes. Are you planning to obtain real estate licenses in multiple states? If so, we recommend you check each state's requirements. General Texas real estate license requirements You must be at least 18 years old, a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien, and a resident of Texas in order to receive your real estate license in Texas. shop courses Texas real estate education requirements The following education courses are required for a real estate sales license: Principles of Real Estate I (30 hours) Principles of Real Estate II (30 hours) Law of Agency (30 hours) Law of Contracts (30 hours) Promulgated Contracts Forms (30 hours) Real Estate Finance (30 hours) Credits from a related course may no longer be used to meet education requirements for a sales agents license Education course completion documents must be submitted when the application is filed. How to submit a Texas real estate license application File and pay for the application for an Inactive Sales Agent License once you've completed your education. You can then submit either a credit transcript or certificate as evidence of successful completion. Do not submit original transcripts or course completion documents. Make sure you keep the originals for your personal files and send copies to the Commission. Apply and pay online for your Inactive Sales Agent License Scan and email your education documents to firstname.lastname@example.org. You may also fax them to 512-936-3863 with a copy of your Online Payment Summary page. Make sure to pay all fees when you submit your application. Also submit all the fees using one personal check, cashiers check or money order payable to the Texas Real Estate Commission. Do not send cash. Here are the required fees. Note that all fees are nonrefundable. Original application: $205, required for all applicants Subsequent background check fee: $29.75, required for applicants who have been previously fingerprinted for the Texas Real Estate Commission Paper processing fee: $20, required for any application submitted by mail that is available online Texas real estate license sponsorship Before you can practice as a licensed sales agent, you must arrange for a Texas real estate broker holding an active license to sponsor you as a sales agent. Applicants and inactive sales agents are not authorized to act as a real estate license holder. Here are your two options: File the sponsorship request along with the application Alternatively, file the application and arrange for sponsorship after the Commission notifies you that you have been issued an inactive license Texas real estate broker education requirements These are the requirements for a broker's license: Experience At least four years active experience in Texas as a licensed real estate sales agent or broker during the 60-month period immediately preceding the filing of the application OR If licensed as a broker in another state, not less than four years active experience as a licensed real estate sales agent or broker during the 60-month period immediately preceding the filing of the application Required for all: Qualifying active experience must total 3600 points and reported on Supplement A or B – Qualifying Experience Report for a Broker's License To report qualifying experience with an application, use TREC No. BL-A, Supplement A-Qualifying Experience Report for a Broker License To report qualifying experience after an application for a broker license is filed, use TREC NO. BL-B, Supplement B-Qualifying Experience Report for a Broker License after an Application has been filed Core education Complete 270 classroom hours of qualifying real estate courses Complete a 30-hour Real Estate Brokerage course as part of the 270 qualifying hours Additional education Complete an additional 630 classroom hours in related course topics acceptable to the Commission Alternatively, a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university satisfies all of the "related" education requirements for a brokers license You will need to submit proof of the four-year college degree How to submit the Texas real estate broker application File and pay for the Application for Broker License by an Individual once you've completed your education. You can then submit either a credit transcript or certificate as evidence of successful completion. Do not submit original transcripts or course completion documents. Make sure you keep the originals for your personal files and send copies to the Commission. Apply and pay online for your real estate broker license Scan and email your education documents to email@example.com. You can also fax them to 512-936-3863 with a copy of your completed application Make sure to pay all fees when you submit your application, otherwise the application and the check will be returned to you Also submit all the fees using one personal check, cashiers check or money order payable to the Texas Real Estate Commission. Do not send cash. All fees listed below are nonrefundable. Original Application: $305, required for all applicants Subsequent background check: $29.75, required for applicants previously fingerprinted for the Texas Real Estate Commission Paper processing fee: $20, required for an application submitted by mail that is available online Texas fingerprinting requirements If you're applying for a real estate license or renewing your broker's license, you'll need to provide your fingerprints. Get a Texas Real Estate Commission entity number Download the FastPass form from the website Make an appointment through MorphoTrust If the background check has not been cleared, then you won't be able to get your license Include a $29.75 background check fee in the original and registration applications for applicants that already have fingerprints on file with TREC Please be advised that a criminal history may make an individual ineligible for an occupational license. Anyone concerned about the effect their criminal history may have on their ability to get an occupational license may request a criminal history evaluation prior to enrolling in courses or applying for a real estate, inspector or appraiser license. Please refer to the criminal history eligibility guidelines set out in Texas Occupations Code §53.025 and TREC Rule 541.1. Potential applicants may request a criminal history evaluation by submitting a completed Moral Character Determination Form to TREC prior to applying for a license. This form is recommended for individuals with any criminal offenses, unpaid judgments, who have had discipline taken against a professional or occupational license, or who have performed unlicensed activity. Texas real estate license exam Pearson VUE administers the license exams. Once the complete application is received and processed and education is satisfied, you will be notified as to whether you are eligible to sit for the examination. The exam notification will have instructions for contacting the exam administrator and obtaining a copy of the candidate handbook to register for the exam. The candidate handbook contains: Information about the examination Study material Instructions for making an exam reservation Please note: you must show two forms of signature identification to be admitted to a testing site. The name on the identification must exactly match the name on the application for a license. The applicant must pass the examination within one year after the date the application is filed with the Commission. SAE / Post-License Requirements All active and inactive Texas sales agents, who are under the Sales Agent Apprentice Education (SAE) requirement, must show evidence of having completed a minimum of 90 hours in qualifying real estate education and 4 hours in Legal Update I and 4 hours in Legal Update II prior to the first two year license term, for a total of 278 hours by the end of the second year of licensure. Evidence of successful course completion must be posted to the TREC computer system prior to the online renewal process or the license will expire. Evidence of course completion cannot be submitted during the online renewal process. You may use the SAE Cover Sheet, and you must submit your hours at least 10 days prior to the date you wish to renew online. Evidence of course completion cannot be submitted during the online renewal process. You may use the SAE Cover Sheet, and you must submit your hours at least 10 days prior to the date you wish to renew online. Course completion certificates may be emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org, or faxed to TREC's Education Section at (512) 936-3863. Please allow 10 business days for processing. A Sales Agent is required to have completed a total of 270 credit hours of qualifying education along with the non-elective TREC Legal Update courses (8 credit hours) prior to the end of their first license term. Below are the requirements to satisfy pre-license education requirements: 180 hours as follows: 30 in Principles of Real Estate I 30 in Principles of Real Estate II 30 in Law of Agency 30 in Law of Contracts 30 in Real Estate Finance 30 in Promulgated Contract Forms Once licensed, the sales agent must then complete an additional 90 qualifying real estate credit hours and 8 hours in Legal Update I and II during the term of the license, for the total as seen below: At first renewal (end of 2nd year) 180 hours 90 hours 8 hours in Legal Update I and II 278 total hours Note: Credit will not be awarded for completion of the same course within a two year period. Good to know Other insights about getting your Texas real estate license Need to find license renewal, license reinstatement, or other real estate related forms? Visit the Texas Real Estate Commission's Real Estate License Forms page to download the form you need. You cannot perform any act for which a real estate license is required until an active Texas Real Estate Commission license is in the possession of your sponsoring broker. If you are a broker, you cannot perform any act for which a real estate license is required until an active Texas Real Estate Commission license is in your possession. If you have defaulted on a student loan, and you have not entered into a payment plan, the state of Texas may reject your application or license renewal request. Visit the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation's website to learn more about the student loan repayment process. If you believe this situation potentially applies to you, contact them before applying for your real estate license or renewing your broker's license. If you have any questions about the continuing education requirements, please contact the Texas Real Estate Commission at 512-936-3000 or visit their website at Texas Real Estate Commission.