How to Get Your Real Estate License in New York

Do you want to become a real estate agent and get New York Real Estate License? Real Estate Express taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in New York, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the New York real estate license requirements.

Learn what's required for your Real Estate License in New York

This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum requirements established by the New York State Department of State Division of Licensing Services. We recommend you contact the New York State Department of State Division of Licensing Services for more detailed information or changes.

If you obtain real estate licenses in multiple states, we recommend you check each state's requirements.

New York Real Estate: Salesperson

  1. Step 1. Meet New York Real Estate License requirements. You must be at least 18 years old to get your New York real estate license. In addition, you must have no felony charges on record and submit proof of US residency.
  2. Step 2. Complete a 75-hour salesperson qualifying education course in real estate approved by the Department of State. - Enroll Today
  3. Step 3. Pass an exam administered by the Department of State. Once you pass your final exam, you must submit the following in your application:
    • Certification of Satisfactory Completion section of the application completed by the Department of State. Typically, the certificate of course completion issued by the school satisfies this documentation.
    • Examination notification must be submitted with your application form.
    • License fee
    • Name of your New York State licensed real estate broker

What states have real estate license reciprocity with New York?

  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Georgia
  • Massachusetts
  • Mississippi
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • West Virginia

Online Limitations

If you do not complete your course within the 6 month access time you can purchase an extension. If you do not complete your course within the one year time period permitted per New York License Law Rule 176.25, you will be required to re-register for your course and take the entire course over again from the beginning.

SCHEDULING YOUR FINAL EXAM: The state of New York requires that the school schedule your final exam with a proctor. When you have completed at least 75% of the course units, you will need to review the Proctor list in the Documents section, select a proctor location that is convenient, and fill out this form to schedule your final exam. We require at least 3 business days notice to schedule your final exam, however, it may take longer depending on proctor availability. Your course final exam must be completed prior to your course expiration date or you will be required to purchase an extension to access that portion of your course. There is an additional fee to purchase an extension and the extension must be purchased before the proctored exam will be scheduled.

Rescheduling Your Proctored Exam: Should you need to cancel your proctored exam, you will be responsible for contacting the proctor directly. To reschedule your exam, you must submit a new scheduling request for the re-scheduled date. Students are not permitted to reschedule their exams with the proctor directly as the state requires the school to set those appointments.

You have ONE complimentary reschedule of your exam. After the first reschedule, there will be a $25 fee for each subsequent change. Rescheduling fees must be paid before your proctor appointment will be rescheduled.

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: Completion certificates are not activated until the student has passed the proctored course final exam, the proctor of the exam has been verified and accepted, and the signed Post-Course Affidavit has been received.

Rosters are mailed weekly on Thursdays to the Department of State Division of Licensing Services for students who have returned all required documents from the previous Thursday through Wednesday.
Roster Sent: Every 7 days

Governing Agency

Name: New York State Department of State Division of Licensing Services
Phone: 5184744429
Fax: 5184736648
Address: Division of Licensing Services One Commerce Plaza, 99 Washington Ave Albany, NY 12231

New York Real Estate: Broker

If you do not complete your course within the 6 month access time you can purchase an extension. If you do not complete your course within the one year time period permitted per New York License Law Rule 176.25, you will be required to re-register for your course and take the entire course over again from the beginning.

Online Limitations

SCHEDULING YOUR FINAL EXAM: The state of New York requires that the school schedule your final exam with a proctor. When you have completed most of the course units, you will need to review the Proctor list in the Documents section, select a proctor location that is convenient and fill out this form to schedule your final exam: https://www.realestateexpress.com/forms/NYproctor.htm. We require at least 3 business days notice to schedule your final exam, however, it may take longer depending on proctor availability. Your course final exam must be completed prior to your course expiration date or you will be required to purchase an extension to access that portion of your course. There is an additional fee to purchase an extension and the extension must be purchased before the proctored exam will be scheduled.

Rescheduling Your Proctored Exam: Should you need to cancel your proctored exam, you will be responsible for contacting the proctor directly. To reschedule your exam, you must submit a new scheduling request for the re-scheduled date. Students are not permitted to reschedule their exams with the proctor directly as the state requires the school to set those appointments.

You have ONE Complimentary reschedule of your exam. After the first reschedule, there will be a $25 fee for each subsequent change. Rescheduling fees must be paid before your proctor appointment will be rescheduled.

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: Completion certificates are not activated until the student has passed the proctored course final exam, the proctor of the exam has been verified and accepted, and the signed Post-Course Affidavit has been received.

Rosters are mailed weekly on Thursdays to the Department of State Division of Licensing Services for students who have returned all required documents from the previous Thursday through Wednesday.
Roster Sent: Every 7 days

Governing Agency

Name: New York State Department of State Division of Licensing Services
Phone: 5184744429
Fax: 5184736648
Address: Division of Licensing Services One Commerce Plaza, 99 Washington Ave Albany, NY 12231

Good to know

Other facts and insights about getting your license

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.