Michigan Real Estate License Requirements Having taught thousands of aspiring agents and brokers in Michigan, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the state's license requirements. Michigan Real Estate Express courses have earned an average of 4.3 out of 5 stars from 1188 reviews. Home > Get My License > Get your Michigan Real Estate License > Michigan Real Estate License Requirements SHOP LICENSINGLICENSE REQUIREMENTSGo Learn what's required to get your real estate license in Michigan This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum real estate education requirements established by Michigan's Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA). We recommend you contact LARA for more detailed information. Are you planning to obtain real estate licenses in multiple states? If so, we recommend you check each state's requirements. Michigan real estate license requirements General Requirements To get your real estate license in Michigan, you need to be at least 18 years of age and have successfully completed education and examination requirements required by the Occupational Code, PA 299 of 1980, as amended. Education requirements Salesperson applicants must complete a required 40-hour Michigan Real Estate Fundamentals course. Your real estate school will submit your certificate of completion to the State of Michigan. Always keep a copy of completion certificates for your records. Application requirements Apply for licensure within 36 months of completing your pre-license course. Exam requirements Once your application has been approved, you will receive an email from the State of Michigan notifying you of your authorization to register for the exam. Register and pass the salesperson’s exam with the exam provider, Psychological Services, Inc. (PSI). To schedule your exam, visit the PSI website. Broker sponsor requirements You do not need to have a broker at the time you submit the license application. Upon completion of your real estate exam and in order to practice as a real estate salesperson, you must be sponsored by a licensed Michigan Employing Broker. shop courses Michigan real estate broker license requirements Experience requirements In order to obtain your Michigan broker's license you must have at least three years of full time experience as a real estate salesperson. Education requirements You must complete no less than 90 clock hours of approved coursework required within 36 months of application, unless licensed continuously. Exam requirements Pass your Michigan broker's the exam administered by PSI Services, LLC. Other requirements Provide letter of good standing. Submit application and associated fees. There is no reciprocal broker license offered in Michigan. Michigan real estate continuing education requirements Michigan real estate licensees must complete 18 hours of continuing education per 3-year license cycle, which includes at least two hours per calendar year of a course that is approved for Michigan law, rules and court cases regarding real estate. Mandatory hours: 6 Elective hours: 12 Each year, the 2-hour Legal Updates course content changes. All licenses expire on 10/31 of that last year of the three year cycle. Licensees can't receive credit for a class twice in the same renewal cycle (3-year period), however they can in consecutive cycles.