Georgia Real Estate License Requirements Having taught thousands of aspiring agents and brokers in Georgia, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the state's license requirements. Georgia Real Estate Express courses have earned an average of 4.5 out of 5 stars from 600 reviews. Home > Get My License > Georgia Real Estate License Requirements SHOPLICENSE REQUIREMENTSGo Learn what's required to get your real estate license in Georgia This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum real estate education requirements established by the Georgia Real Estate Commission. We recommend you contact the Commission for more detailed information. Are you planning to obtain real estate licenses in multiple states? If so, we recommend you check each state's requirements. Georgia real estate license requirements General Requirements You must be have a high school diploma or GED, pass a background check and be at least 18 years old in order to become licensed in Georgia. If you are 17, you may sit for the exam, however, the license cannot be activated until you are 18. Education requirements You must meet ONE of the following educational requirements: Successfully complete the required 75-hour Salesperson Pre-license Course at a school approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission, OR Successfully complete a minimum of 10 quarter hours or six semester hours of course work eligible for a major in real estate from a U.S. or Canadian accredited college or university or successfully complete a course in real property, agency, or contracts from a U.S. or Canadian accredited school of law, OR Once you have completed your education requirements, you must submit your official transcript from the college, university, or school of law with your application for examination to Applied Measurement Professionals (not the Commission). Continuing education adult education, crash seminars and special short courses are not acceptable. AMP will notify you whether your coursework is acceptable. Alternatively, you may provide proof you completed at least 75 hours of pre-license course work approved by the real estate regulatory agency of another state or province of Canada. Be sure to obtain a letter from the agency that verifies that the course work is approved in that state or province. In the first year of your licensure as a salesperson, you must take a 25-hour salesperson post-license course. If you don't complete the post-license course during the first year, your license will lapse. Exam requirements Register for the examination administered by Applied Measurement Professionals and approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission. Pay the examination fee of $115. Successfully pass the exam. Apply for your license within 12 months of the date you took the exam; if 12 months have passed, you must retake the exam. License fees One set fee covers the first four years of licensure: If you are applying within three months from taking your exam, the license fee is $170. If applying more than three months but less than 12 months from taking your exam, the license fee is $340. shop courses Georgia real estate continuing education requirementsA minimum of 36 hours of approved continuing education course work must be completed during each 4-year renewal period. Three of the thirty-six required hours of continuing education must be completed on the mandatory topic of License Law. Georgia real estate salesperson inactive/active statusIf you have successfully passed your salesperson licensing exam, you have the option of activating or not activating your license. To activate your license, apply to your broker using the Sponsoring Broker Statement Application located in the candidate handbook. Make sure the sponsoring broker signs the application. If you do not want to activate your license with a broker, you are still required to pay the licensing fee, meet the post-license exam requirements, and pay renewal fees when they are due. Georgia broker license requirementsGeneral requirements You must have your high school diploma, pass a background check and be at least 21 years of age to get a broker license in Georgia. If you are age 20, you may sit for the salesperson examination, however, the license cannot be activated until you are 21. Education requirements Successfully complete the required 60-hour Broker's Pre-license Course at a school approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission. Successfully complete a minimum of 15 quarter hours or nine semester hours of either course work eligible for a major in real estate from a U.S. or Canadian accredited college or university or course in real property, agency or contracts from a U.S. or Canadian accredited school of law. Provide proof of completion of at least 60 hours of pre-license course work approved by the real estate regulatory agency of another state or province of Canada. You must obtain a letter from that agency that verifies that the course work is approved in that state or province. Experience requirements You must be licensed and an active status for a minimum of three of the previous five years before you apply for your broker license. You must be enrolled in a Broker's Pre-license Course at a school approved by the Commission; your license history will be verified by Commission when school sends your application. If you have held a real estate license in a state other than Georgia, or if you are not fulfilling your pre-license education requirements by taking a Broker's Pre-license Course at a school approved by the Commission, you must attach a certification of your license history from the state in which you met the education, examination and experience requirements for licensure with your application. The license history must be less than one year old and it must show "active" time or dates. Exam requirements Register for the examination administered by Applied Measurement Professionals and approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission. Pay the examination fee of $115. Successfully pass the exam. Continuing education requirements A minimum of 36 hours of approved continuing education course work must be completed during each 4-year renewal period. Thirty-six required hours of continuing education must include three mandatory hours on the topic of License Law. Georgia real estate broker inactive/active statusApplied Measurement Professionals issues only inactive brokers licenses. Activate a brokers license by filing an Opening a New Firm or a Change of Qualifying Broker application with the Commission. Whether placing a license in active or inactive status, you must pay the appropriate licensing fee. If you place a license in inactive status, you must also pay renewal fees when they're due. Good to know Other insights about getting your Georgia real estate license Visit the Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP) website to view salesperson and broker exam hours to schedule an exam. If you have prior criminal convictions or disciplinary actions in another state, you may wish to apply for a preliminary decision from the Commission before you incur the expense of a license. Contact the Commission for the Application for Preliminary Decision Regarding Prior Criminal Conviction(s) or Disciplinary Sanction(s).