Florida Real Estate License Requirements Having taught thousands of aspiring agents and brokers in Florida, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the state's license requirements. Florida Real Estate Express courses have earned an average of 4.4 out of 5 stars from 6072 reviews. Home > Get My License > Get your Florida Real Estate License > Florida Real Estate License Requirements SHOP LICENSINGLICENSE REQUIREMENTSGo Learn what's required to get your real estate license in Florida This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum real estate education requirements established by Florida's Real Estate Commission (FREC). We recommend you contact the Commission for more detailed information. Are you planning to obtain real estate licenses in multiple states? If so, we recommend you check each state's requirements. Florida real estate salesperson license requirements General Requirements You must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or GED in order to become licensed in Florida. Education requirements Successfully complete 63 classroom-hours of pre-licensing courses. Exam and application requirements Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and the fee. Pass the Florida Real Estate Sales Associate Examination with a grade of at least 75 out of 100 points or pass the Florida Real Estate Law Exam with a grade of at least 30 out of 40 points. Activate your license using the DBPR RE 11-Become Active - Sales Associate or Broker Sales Associate form, OR Have your employing broker activate your new license online using the broker's online account. Post-licensing requirements Successfully complete post-licensing course for sales associate consisting of at least 45 classroom-hours, before your initial sales license expires. Even if your license is inactive, you'll still need to complete the post-licensing course before the license expires. You'll need at least 45 classroom hours. shop courses Florida real estate broker license requirements Experience requirements To get your broker's license in the state of Florida, you will need to complete the following: Have an active real estate sales associate license, AND Have 24 months of real estate experience during the five year period before you became a licensed broker or real estate sales associate. If you have a Florida real estate sales associate license, you must fulfill the sales associate post-licensing education requirement before getting your broker's license. If you have a Florida sales associate license, you are not exempt from the sales associate post-licensing course. Education requirements Complete a 72-hour pre-licensing course for brokers Application and exam requirements Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and the fee. Pass the Florida Real Estate Broker Examination with a grade of at least 75 out of 100 points. Submit a completed DBPR RE 13 Broker Transactions form so your license can be activated. If you don't submit the broker transactions form, your license will be issued as inactive. Post-licensing requirements Successfully complete a 60-hour post-licensing course for brokers. This must be completed before your broker's license expires. Florida continuing education requirements You'll need to renew your license every two years. You'll also need to complete at least 14 hours of real estate continuing education. Within 60 days of your license expiring, you should receive a renewal license in the mail. If your license is not renewed, it will be considered inactive. To learn more about continuing education requirements, contact the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Division of Real Estate at 850-487-1395. Florida jurisdiction requirements If you are a broker who has real estate experience in another state, you may apply your real estate experience toward a Florida real estate broker license. Your real estate sales or broker license must be active for at least 24 months during the preceding five years. If you want to claim experience from a jurisdiction other than Florida, send your application and attach the current certification. Make sure it's not more than 30 days old and it's from the correct licensing authority. Good to know Other insights about getting your Florida real estate license If you are a Florida attorney you are exempt from pre-licensing requirements, but you are not exempt from post-licensing requirements. If you have a Bachelors or Master's degree in real estate, you are exempt from pre-licensing requirements and post-licensing requirements. Real estate and broker courses are valid for two years after the course completion date. If you have a permanent physical disability, you may qualify for a correspondence pre-licensing course. Visit the Florida Administrative Code and Florida Administrative Register website for answers to your disability and real estate examination questions.