How to Get Your Real Estate License in California

Do you want to become a real estate agent and get California Real Estate License? Real Estate Express taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in California, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the California real estate license requirements.

Learn what's required for your Real Estate License in California

This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum requirements established by the California Department of Real Estate. We recommend you contact the California Department of Real Estate for more detailed information or changes.

If you obtain real estate licenses in multiple states, we recommend you check each state's requirements.

California Real Estate: Salesperson

  1. Step 1: Comply with the General Real Estate License Requirements in California
    • You must be at least 18 years old to become licensed in California.
    • While residency in the state is not a requirement to become licensed in California, you may need to comply with the requirements for out-of-state applicants.
    • Applicants must be honest and truthful. Conviction of a crime may result in the denial of a license. Failure to disclose any past criminal violation or disciplinary action may also result in the denial of a license. For further information, see Avoid Potential Denial of Your License Application (RE 229) and Applicant Eligibility Information (RE 222).
  2. Step 2: Meet the Educational Real Estate License Requirements in California - Enroll Today You must complete three college-level courses to qualify for a real estate salesperson examination:
    • 1. Real Estate Principles
    • 2. Real Estate Practice
    • 3. Plus one course from the following list:
      • Real Estate Appraisal
      • Property Management
      • Real Estate Finance
      • Real Estate Economics
      • Legal Aspects of Real Estate
      • Real Estate Office Administration
      • General Accounting
      • Business Law
      • Escrows
      • Mortgage Loan Brokering and Lending
      • Computer Applications in Real Estate
      • Common Interest Developments
  3. Step 3: Pass the Written California Real Estate License Exam
    • To obtain a real estate salesperson license in California, you must first qualify for and pass a written examination
  4. Step 4: Complete the California Real Estate License application.
    • Those who pass the examination are provided a license application, which must be submitted to and approved by the California Department of Real Estate (DRE)

Online Limitations

There is no limit to the number of QE hours that may be taken online. Courses must be completed within 1 year of the enrollment date.

Students cannot receive credit for completing a course in less than 18 days, therefore, the first attempt at a course final exam is not accessible until at least the 18th day after starting the course (provided the student has completed all units and unit quizzes). If a student fails the first attempt at the course final exam, a second attempt will not be available until 18 days have passed since the first exam was failed. If a student fails the final exam for a course twice, then the student has failed the course. In order to receive credit, the student will need to re-register for the course, complete all units and unit quizzes in the new course, and pass the course final exam.

Governing Agency

Name: California Department of Real Estate
Phone: 9162270894
Fax: 9162275869
Address: 1651 Exposition Boulevard PO Box 137009 Sacramento, CA 95813

California Real Estate: Broker

To obtain a real estate broker license, you must be 18 years of age or older; meet resident or out-of-state applicants requirements; disclose any and all criminal violations or disciplinary actions; have a minimum of 2 years full-time licensed salesperson experience within the last 5 years (or equivalent); complete 8 college-level courses in real estate (Legal Aspects of Real Estate, Real Estate Appraisal, Real Estate Economics or General Accounting, Real Estate Finance, Real Estate Practice, and 3 electives as detailed in your Course Orientation); and pass a written broker licensing examination.

Online Limitations

There is no limit to the number of QE hours that may be taken online. Students are given six months to complete an individual course.

Students cannot receive credit for completing a course in less than 18 days, therefore, the first attempt at a course final exam is not accessible until at least the 18th day after starting the course (provided the student has completed all units and unit quizzes). If a student fails the first attempt at the course final exam, a second attempt will not be available until 18 days have passed since the first exam was failed. If a student fails the final exam for a course twice, then the student has failed the course. In order to receive credit, the student will need to re-register for the course, complete all units and unit quizzes in the new course, and pass the course final exam.

Governing Agency

Name: California Department of Real Estate
Phone: 9162270894
Fax: 9162275869
Address: 1651 Exposition Boulevard PO Box 137009 Sacramento, CA 95813

Good to know

Other facts and insights about getting your license

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.