Alabama Real Estate License Requirements Having taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents and brokers in Alabama, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the state's license requirements. Alabama Real Estate Express courses have earned an average of 4.6 out of 5 stars from 565 reviews. Home > Get My License > Get your Alabama Real Estate License > Alabama Real Estate License Requirements SHOP LICENSINGLICENSE REQUIREMENTSGo Learn what's required to get your real estate license in Alabama This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum requirements established by the Alabama Real Estate Commission. We recommend you contact the Commission for more detailed information. Are you planning to obtain real estate licenses in multiple states? If so, we recommend you check each state's requirements. Alabama real estate salesperson requirements General Requirements You must be at least 19 years old and have a high school diploma or GED in order to become licensed in Alabama. Additionally, you must be a resident of any state in the U.S. and a U.S. citizen, permanent resident alien or legally present in the U.S. After meeting the education and/or experience requirements, you must also pass the licensing exam. Additionally you must not have: Been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude Had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in any state within the past two years Pre-license education requirements Before you can sit for the Alabama state real estate license exam, you must successfully complete an approved 60-hour pre-license course. You have 12 months to pass the state exam after completing the course. If you miss the deadline, you must retake the course. Post-license education requirements You must complete the 30 hour post-license course for salespersons within the first six months of licensure for active licensees and within one year for inactive licensees. Renewal requirements Salespersons with active licenses are required to complete a 30-hour post-license course within the first six months of obtaining their license. Those with inactive licenses are required to complete the course within one year. shop courses Alabama real estate salesperson: reciprocal license requirements If you have an original current license in another state, you may be able to obtain a reciprocal license by doing the following: Completing a 6-hour course in Alabama real estate law, Taking and passing the corresponding Alabama portion of the licensing examination, AND Submitting with the application the Certificate of Licensure form. This is a history of your license and it shows you have a current license in another state. You must take and pass the reciprocal salesperson's exam on Alabama license law within 12 months of course completion. You can obtain the certification documentation by contacting the Real Estate Commission office in that state. The governing board requires the following: Your certification must have been issued within 120 days of receipt of the reciprocal license application. If you're an exam candidate, you will receive an application for the license at the test center when you pass the exam. Find more information about Alabama's reciprocal license program by reading Section 34-27-32(b)(1) and Rule 790-X-1-.18 Alabama real estate broker license requirements A broker candidate must meet all of the requirements for the salesperson license. Additionally, you must: Complete an approved 60-hour pre-license course AND Have held an active real estate salesperson license in any state for at least 24 months of the 36-month period immediately preceding the date of application. There are no post license requirements for brokers. Alabama real estate continuing education requirements The governing board requires 15 hours of continuing education every two years in order to renew your license. These hours must be completed by September 30 of every even year (for example, in 2016, 2018, 2020, and so forth). The 15 hours of continuing education includes 11 hours of mandatory topics: Three hours in Risk Management – Level 1, for brokers and salespersons: Avoiding Violations course Three hours in Risk Management – Level 2, for brokers: Risk Management for Brokers course. For salespersons: Risk Management for Salespersons course, the Risk Management for Brokers course, or an industry-specific Risk Management course approved for Level 2 credit by the Commission Nine hours in Commission – state approved courses Alabama reciprocal broker requirements The state requires the following: Complete the Commission-approved six-hour course. Complete the reciprocal broker pre-license course covering Alabama license law. Take and pass the Reciprocal Broker's examination on Alabama license law within 12 months of course completion. Good to know Other insights about getting your Alabama real estate license More information is available by calling the Alabama Real Estate Commission at 334-242-5544 You can download real estate PDF forms from the Alabama Real Estate Commission's media page. Real estate salesperson and broker licenses expire at midnight on September 30 of the final year of each license period.