The Top Real Estate License School in America - Online Since 1996.


Know what the Washington Real Estate License State Requirements are before you start taking courses

Real estate license - Washington state requirements

When you're getting your Real Estate License in Washington, you want to make sure you thoroughly understand the licensing requirements. Every state is different so if you're interested in getting licensed across different states, be sure to carefully review the requirements for Washington. Visit Washington State Department of Licensing site to learn more about the real estate license requirements specific to Washington.

Our online real estate license courses meet the requirements for Washington.

Over 8,000 students in Washington have used Real Estate Express online pre-license and exam prep courses to get their licenses. Our real estate and exam prep courses are designed with Washington's state requirements in mind.

Washington is a broker only state.

General requirements - real estate license Washington

When it comes to getting your broker's license in Washington you need to be at least 18 years of age and have your high school diploma, or equivalent. You'll also need a minimum of three years of full-time experience as a salesperson in Washington or in another jurisdiction with comparable requirements.

To qualify for a broker's license, you must also:

Successfully complete 90 hours of approved real estate education within 2 years before applying for the exam. This education must include:

  • A 60-hour course in Real Estate Fundamentals.
  • A 30-hour course in Real Estate Practices.
  • Pass the broker's exam. Learn how to schedule an exam and what to bring to the testing center by visiting the Washington broker's exam page.

Getting your Washington broker's license renewed

Every two years, you'll need to renew your broker's license. You can renew your license online, by mail, or at an office. The Washington State Department of Licensing covers all the topics relating to renewing your broker's license.

Real estate license WA state requirement - continuing education, first active renewal

  • 30-hour Advanced Practices Course
  • 30-hour Real Estate Law Course
  • 30 hours of approved continuing education, including a 3-hour Core Course
  • The hours must be completed after the date of first licensure

Real estate license WA state requirement - continuing education, subsequent active renewal

  • 30 hours of approved continuing education, including a 3-hour Core Course
  • A minimum of 15 hours must be completed within 24 months of your renewal date. You may also submit up to 15 hours of unused continuing education that was completed within 48 months of your renewal date.

Real estate license WA state requirement - continuing education, inactive renewals

  • No continuing education required to renew an inactive license.
  • If you want to activate your license, you may need to meet the education requirements for an active license.

Every six years, you'll need to submit your fingerprints with your active license renewal. The Washington State Department of Licensing will let you know when it's time to get fingerprinted.

Good to know

  • States continually update their requirements. Before taking an exam, check with the state to review the licensing requirements.
  • States have different licensing periods. For example, the Texas real estate agent's license is good for 2 years. In Washington it's 4 years.
Black Friday savings extended again! Take 30% off all pre-licensing courses only. Hurry! Offer ends soon.
Expires 11/29
Use promo code SAVINGS30 at checkout

© 2015 American School of Real Estate Express, LLC.

Secure Login


User Name or Email
Password Forgot Password?