The Top Real Estate License School in America - Online Since 1996.

Y

Virginia Real Estate License State Requirements

Salesperson and Broker Pre-License Education Requirements:
Please be sure you understand the requirements before taking the pre-license education and licensing examination. If you have any questions, please contact the VA Real Estate Board at (804) 367-8500 or visit their website at Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation.

Applicants for the Virginia Real Estate Examinations must be at least 18 years of age, must have at least a high school diploma (or equivalent), must have either a Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number, and must meet these additional education requirements:

  • Salespersons must complete 60 hours in the principles of real estate and pass the State and National portions of the salesperson examination.
  • Brokers must complete 180 hours of education, pass the State and National Portions of the broker examination, and submit verification of experience (actively engaged as a salesperson for 36 out of the 48 months preceding application for licensure).

Salesperson Post-License Education (PLE) Requirements – Effective July 1, 2013:
Section 54.1-2105.01 of the Code of Virginia requires all new salesperson licensees to complete a Board-approved 30-hour post-license education course within one (1) year of obtaining their salesperson licenses. This requirement was previously met through the PLT 3T program. The PLT 3T program is being phased out and will expire on December 31, 2013. For more information on the PLE 3T transition, please visit the Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation’s website.

Effective July 1, 2013, the NEW Single-Track Post-License Education (PLE 1T) goes into effect for new salespersons. The 30-hour PLE 1T program consists of eight courses:

  1. Fair Housing, ADA and Civil Rights (2 hours)
  2. Real Estate Law and Regulations (8 hours)
  3. Ethics and Standards of Conduct (3 hours)
  4. Current Industry Issues and Trends (2 hours)
  5. Agency Law (3 hours)
  6. Contract Writing (6 hours)
  7. Risk Management (3 hours)
  8. Escrow Requirements (3 hours)

New salespersons may use different Board-approved education providers to complete the eight courses and 30 hours. As of January 1, 2014, the PLE 1T program will be the only approved post-license education curriculum. If you have any questions about the post-license requirement, please contact the VA Real Estate Board at (804) 367-8500 or visit their website at Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation.

Continuing Education Requirements:
Section 54.1-2105.03 of the Code of Virginia requires that all brokers and salespersons (who have renewed their license at least once before) complete Board-approved Continuing Education to renew or activate their licenses.

Brokers must complete 24 hours of Continuing Education courses to renew their licenses. Of these 24 hours, they must complete 8 hours in Broker Management & Agent Supervision, 3 hours in Ethics & Standards of Conduct, 2 hours in Fair Housing, 1 hour in Legal Updates & Emerging Trends, 1 hour in Real Estate Agency, and 1 hour in Real Estate Contracts.

Experienced Salespersons must complete 16 hours of Continuing Education courses to renew their licenses. Of these 16 hours, they must complete 3 hours in Ethics & Standards of Conduct, 2 hours in Fair Housing, 1 hour in Legal Updates & Emerging Trends, 1 hour in Real Estate Agency, and 1 hour in Real Estate Contracts.

The remaining 8 hours for both brokers and experienced salespersons may be in Real Estate Related Subjects (electives) or in the required Continuing Education subjects mentioned earlier in this section. These Continuing Education requirements also apply to inactive brokers and salespersons who apply to activate their licenses. If you have any questions about the continuing education requirements, please contact the VA Real Estate Board at (804) 367-8500 or visit their website at Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation.

Residential Standard Agency Requirement
In addition to the 16 hours of continuing education for experiences salespersons, the 24 hours of continuing education for brokers, and the 30 hours of Post-License Education for new salespersons, all licensees who renew, reinstate, or activate a salesperson or broker license must complete a Board-approved three-hour course in Residential Standard Agency (RSA). RSA is a one-time only requirement to renew licenses that expire between July 31, 2012 and June 30, 2014.

Limited Time Only
Save All Weekend Long!
25
%
off
Expires 10/26
Use promo code TERROR14 at checkout




© 2014 American School of Real Estate Express, LLC.

Secure Login

 

User Name or Email
Password Forgot Password?