The Top Real Estate License School in America - Online Since 1996.

Y

Know what the Texas Real Estate License State Requirements are before you start taking courses

Real estate license - Texas state requirement

When you're getting your Real Estate License in Texas, you want to make sure you thoroughly understand the licensing requirements. Every state is different so if you're interested in getting licensed across different states, be sure to carefully review the requirements for Texas. Visit the Texas Real Estate Commission site to learn more about the specific real estate license requirements.

Over 9,000 people in Texas have used Real Estate Express online pre-license and exam prep courses to get their licenses. Our real estate and exam prep courses are designed with Texas' state requirements in mind. The state of Texas has specific requirements for real estate agent and brokers' licenses and we make sure our online real estate license courses meet the requirements for Texas.

General requirements - real estate license Texas requirement

When it comes to getting your real estate license in Texas, you want to make sure you are a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien, are at least 18 years of age, and a resident of the state.

Education requirements - real estate license Texas requirement

The following education courses are required for a real estate sales license:

Principles of Real Estate [60 classroom hours]

  • Law of Agency (30 classroom hours)

  • Law of Contracts (30 classroom hours)

  • Promulgated Contracts Forms (30 classroom hours)

  • Real Estate Finance (30 classroom hours). (Related course credit may no longer be used to meet education requirements for a sales agents license).

  • Education course completion documents must be submitted when the application is filed.

Filing your application - real estate license Texas requirement

File and pay for the Application for Inactive Sales Agent License once you've completed your education. You can then submit either a credit transcript or certificate as evidence of successful completion. Please do not submit original transcripts or course completion documents. Make sure you keep the originals for your personal files and send photocopies to the Commission.

  • Apply and pay online for your Inactive Sales Agent License

  • Scan and email your education documents electronically to education@trec.texas.gov. You can also fax them to 512-936-3863 with a copy of your completed application.

  • Make sure to pay all fees when you submit your application, otherwise the application and the check will be returned to you

  • Also submit all the fees using one personal check, cashiers check, or money order payable to the Texas Real Estate Commission. Do not send cash.

All fees listed below are nonrefundable.*

Fees Required with Real Estate | Sales Agent License Application

Fee

Amount

Comment

Original Application

$205

Required for all applicants

Subsequent Background
Check Fee

$29.75

Required for applicants who have been previously fingerprinted for TREC.

Paper Processing Fee

$20.00

Required for any application submitted by mail that is available online

Getting sponsorship - real estate license Texas requirement

Before you can practice as a licensed sales agent you must arrange for a Texas real estate broker holding an active license to sponsor you as a sales agent. Applicants and inactive sales agents are not authorized to act as a real estate license holder. You can file:

  • The sponsorship request along with the application

  • The application and arrange for sponsorship after TREC notifies you that you have been issued an inactive license

Broker's education requirements license Texas requirement

The following education courses are required for a broker's license:

One

  • At least four years active experience in Texas as a licensed real estate sales agent or broker during the 60 month period immediately preceding the filing of the application; OR

  • If licensed as a broker in another state, not less than four years active experience as a licensed real estate sales agent or broker during the 60 month period immediately preceding the filing of the application, AND

  • Qualifying active experience must total 3600 points and reported on Supplement A or B Qualifying Experience Report for a Broker's License.

Two

Three

  • An additional 630 classroom hours in related courses acceptable to the Commission

  • A bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university satisfies all of the "related" education requirements for a brokers license

  • A copy of the college transcript awarding the degree must be submitted as evidence of completion of the degree

Filing your application broker's Texas requirement

File and pay for the Application for Broker License by an Individual once you've completed your education. You can then submit either a credit transcript or certificate as evidence of successful completion. Please do not submit original transcripts or course completion documents. Make sure you keep the originals for your personal files and send photocopies to the Commission.

  • Apply and pay online for your Real Estate Broker License.

  • Scan and email your education documents electronically to education@trec.texas.gov. You can also fax them to 512-936-3863 with a copy of your completed application.

  • Make sure to pay all fees when you submit your application, otherwise the application and the check will be returned to you

  • Also submit all the fees using one personal check, cashiers check, or money order payable to the Texas Real Estate Commission. Do not send cash.

All fees listed below are nonrefundable.*

Fees Required with Real Estate | Broker License Application

Fee

Amount

Comment

Original Application

$605

Required for all applicants

Subsequent background check

$29.75

Required for applicants previously fingerprinted for TREC

Paper Processing Fee

$20.00

Required for an application submitted by mail that is available online

*Background Check Fee - All license holders who have been fingerprinted for TREC must pay the $29.75 background check fee for each subsequent renewal or application. Any paper document that is submitted for a transaction that is available online must include the required $20 paper processing fee.

Fingerprints for real estate license and broker's Texas requirement

If you're applying for a real estate license or renewing your broker's license, you'll need to provide your fingerprints.

  • Get a TREC entity number

  • Download the FastPass form from the website, http://www.trec.state.tx.us/FASTPass/

  • Make an appointment through MorphoTrust or through Pearson VUE

  • If the background check has not been cleared, then you won't be able to get your license

  • Include a $31.50 background check fee in the original and registration applications for applicants that already have fingerprints on file with TREC

Examination information - real estate license and broker's Texas requirement

Pearson VUE administers the license exams. Once the complete application is received and processed and education is satisfied, you will be notified as to whether or not you are eligible to sit for the examination. The exam notification will have instructions for contacting the exam administrator and obtaining a copy of the Candidate Handbook to register for the exam.

The Candidate Handbook contains:

  • Information about the examination,
  • Study material,
  • Instructions for making an exam reservation

Please note, two forms of current signature identification are required for admission to a testing site. The name on the identification must match the name on the application for a license. The applicant must pass the examination within one year after the date the application is filed with TREC.

Loan default real estate license Texas requirement

If you have defaulted on a student loan, and you have not entered into a payment plan, the state of Texas may reject your application or license renewal request. Visit the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation's website to learn more about the student loan repayment process. If this situation potentially applies to you, contact them before applying for your real estate license or renewing your broker's license.

If you have any questions about the continuing education requirements, please contact the Texas Real Estate Commission at (512) 936-3000 or visit their website at Texas Real Estate Commission.

Good to know

  • Need to find license renewal, license reinstatement, or other real estate related forms? Visit the Texas Real Estate Commission's Real Estate License Forms page to download the form you need.

  • You cannot perform any act for which a real estate license is required until an active Texas Real Estate Commission license is in the possession of your sponsoring broker.

  • If you are a broker, you cannot perform any act for which a real estate license is required until an active Texas Real Estate Commission license is in your possession.

  • If you file an application to get a real estate license, your background may be investigated. Your license application may be disapproved if something unfavorable is found.

4th OF JULY SAVINGS
July's Best Prices. Limited Time ONLY!
25
%
off
Expires 7/5
Use promo code JULY4 at checkout




As Seen In



© 2015 American School of Real Estate Express, LLC.

Secure Login

 

User Name or Email
Password Forgot Password?