Know what the Nevada Real Estate License State Requirements are before you start taking courses
Real estate license - Nevada state requirement
When you're getting your real estate license in Nevada, you want to make sure you thoroughly understand the licensing requirements. Every state is different so if you're interested in getting licensed across different states, be sure to carefully review the requirements for Nevada. Visit the Nevada Real Estate Division site to learn more about the specific real estate license requirements.
Thousands of people in Nevada have used Real Estate Express online pre-license and exam prep courses to get their licenses. Our real estate and exam prep courses are designed with Nevada's state requirements in mind. The state of Nevada has specific requirements for real estate agent and brokers' licenses and we make sure our online real estate license courses meet the requirements for Nevada.
General requirements - real estate license Nevada requirement
When it comes to getting your real estate license in Nevada, you need to be at least 18 years old. Additionally, if you're applying for a real estate salesperson license, you must meet the following education requirements:
Real estate license - Nevada state requirement
You must show proof of passing the national and Nevada state exam within one year of the application date. You may also use your national examination results from another state (if dated within one year of the date of application for a Nevada real estate license) but you must show proof of those results.
Broker and broker-salesperson license - Nevada state requirement
Applicants must show proof of completion of *64 semester units, consisting of:
If you are applying for a broker's license and you hold a valid real estate salesman's license, you are entitled to receive credit for the equivalent of 16 semester units of college level courses for each two years of active experience as a licensed real estate salesman or broker.
Your license must be valid in that state at the time of application in Nevada. You can't apply this credit against either the 45 hour Broker Management Training or the 18-hour Nevada law requirement.
To apply for a broker's license you must have been actively engaged as a full-time licensed real estate broker or salesman for at least two (2) of the four (4) years immediately prior to the issuance of a Nevada Broker license. You may apply for a Broker/Salesperson license without meeting the experience requirement but must meet the testing and education requirement of a broker.
Be prepared to show proof of passing the national and Nevada state exam within one year of the application date. You may use your national examination results from another state but must show proof of those results and meet the one-year deadline.
Real estate license renewal - Nevada state requirement
The state of Nevada requirements are different based on renewal type. Be sure to review each renewal section carefully as you may encounter delays in getting your license renewed.
Your original real estate license is valid for two years ending the last day of the month during which you obtained your license. You'll need to renew your license every 4 years. There is no grace period for renewal.
You'll receive a renewal notice as a courtesy approximately six weeks before it expires. If you don't receive the notice, use the generic renewal form.
You may renew your licenses up to 45 days prior to the renewal deadline date.
The renewal education requirements are as follows:
are not accepted. 2. 12 hours of continuing education needs to be completed within the first 2 years after initial licensing. This needs to include 3 hours for each of the mandatory areas of:
645.4442—Post-licensing education* real estate license renewal - Nevada state requirement
The requirement for post-licensing education does not apply to a first-time licensee who:
*Those who qualify for 645.4442 are required to complete 30 hours of continuing education as follows:
Real estate salespersons:
30 hours consisting of 12 hours of required courses that include 3 hours each of:
Real estate broker or broker salespersons:
30 hours consisting of 15 hours of required courses that include 3 hours each of:
Second and subsequent renewal real estate license renewal - Nevada state requirement
1. 24 Hours of Commission approved real estate Continuing Education to be completed before the end of each 2-year period (for a total of 48 hours) as follows:
Renewing a property management and/or business broker permit:
Renewing an inactive license:
Inactive real estate licenses must also be renewed by the expiration date. No continuing education is required to renew, but the renewal form must be completed and returned with the applicable renewal fee.
The Child Support Statement must be completed, regardless of parental status.
Licenses may be renewed by mail or in person. Include:
If renewing by mail, the application must be postmarked by midnight of the expiration date (the last day of the renewal month).
If renewing in person, we suggest that you avoid the end of the month and the middle of the day.
If you have any questions about the continuing education requirements, (702) 486-4033 or visit their website at Nevada Real Estate Division.