The Top Real Estate License School in America - Online Since 1996.

Y

Know what the Illinois Real Estate License State Requirements are before you start taking courses

Real estate license - Illinois state requirements

When you're getting your Real Estate License in Illinois, you want to make sure you thoroughly understand the licensing requirements. Every state is different so if you're interested in getting licensed across different states, be sure to carefully review the requirements for Illinois. Visit Illinois' real estate commission site to learn more about the real estate license requirements specific to Illinois.

Over 9,000 students in Illinois have used Real Estate Express online pre-license and exam prep courses to get their licenses. Our real estate and exam prep courses are designed with Illinois's state requirements in mind. Our online real estate license courses meet the requirements for Illinois.

The state of Illinois has real estate and broker requirements.

General requirements Illinois real estate license state requirement

When it comes to getting your real estate license in Illinois, you want to make sure you have your high school diploma, or equivalent and are at least 21 years of age.

Pre-license - Illinois real estate license state requirement

You need to take 90 hours of pre-license course work to sit for your Illinois real estate license exam.

  • 75-hours can be taken online as self-study

  • 15-hours must be taken interactively in a classroom or by webinar

Broker - Illinois real estate license state requirement

When it comes to getting your broker's license you need to be at least 21 years old and have graduated from high school or obtained the equivalent of a high school degree (GED). You must also complete the following course work:

  • 90-class-hour pre-license course at a real estate school approved by the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation

  • 75-hours can be taken online as self-study

  • 15-hours must be taken interactively in a classroom or by webinar

Broker continuing education Illinois state requirements

The state of Illinois has specific requirements when it comes to renewing your broker's license.

If you are a Broker and this is your FIRST renewal, you must complete the following:

  • 30-hour Post license course

  • Pass the course final exam prior to the first renewal of your license.

    The 30-hour Post license course consists of 2 components

  • 15-hour Broker Post License Topics

  • 15-hour Broker Post License Applied Real Estate Practices course (in classroom or interactive only).

Register for the online 15-hour Broker Post License Topics course by visiting Illinois Broker Post-License.

Renewing your broker's license - Illinois state requirement

You must complete 12 hours of continuing education to renew your broker's license if any of the following apply to you:

  • Transitioned your salesperson license to a broker license;

  • Held a Broker license prior to 4/30/2011 and did not transition your license to Managing Broker; OR

  • Became a licensed Broker after 5/1/2011

The 12 hours of Continuing Education must includeat least 6 hours of Core:

  • 3 hours Core A Select Core A: Agency, License Law and Escrow from Core A list

  • 3 hours Core B Select 1 course from Core B list

  • No more than 6 hours of Elective course

  • Select 2 courses from Elective list

Broker Continuing Education must be completed prior to April 30 even-numbered years.

Managing broker's license - Illinois state requirement

To qualify for an Illinois Real Estate Managing Broker license applicants must:

  • Be at least 21 years old

  • Have graduated from high school or obtained the equivalent of a high school degree (GED)

  • Held an active Illinois Broker license for two years

To get your Illinois managing broker's license you must complete the following:

  • 45-hour Managing Broker course

  • 30-hours can be taken online as self-study

  • 15-hours must be taken interactively in a classroom or by webinar

Continuing education for managing broker's license - Illinois state requirement

To renew your managing broker license you must complete 24 hours of Continuing Education by April 30th of off numbered years.

The 24 hours of Continuing Education must include:

  • 12 hours of continuing education:

  • A minimum of 6 hours of Core

    • 3 hours Core A - Select Core A: Agency, License Law and Escrow from Core A list

    • 3 hours of Core B - Select 1 course from Core B list

  • No more than 6 hours of Elective

    • Select 2 courses from Elective list

  • AND, 12 hours Broker Management continuing education course

Managing Broker continuing education must be completed prior to April 30 odd-numbered years.

Good to know



© 2015 American School of Real Estate Express, LLC.

Secure Login

 

User Name or Email
Password Forgot Password?