The Top Real Estate License School in America - Online Since 1996.

Y

Know what the Georgia Real Estate License State Requirements are before you start taking courses

Real estate license - Georgia state requirements

When you're getting your Real Estate License in Georgia, you want to make sure you thoroughly understand the licensing requirements. Every state is different so if you're interested in getting licensed across different states, be sure to carefully review the requirements for Georgia. Visit the Georgia Real Estate Commission's site to learn more about the specific real estate license requirements.

Over 9,000 students in Georgia have used Real Estate Express online pre-license and exam prep courses to get their real estate licenses. Our real estate and exam prep courses are designed with Georgia's state requirements in mind. The state of Georgia has specific requirements for real estate agent and brokers' licenses and we make sure our online real estate license courses meet the requirements for Georgia.

General requirements salesperson's real estate license in Georgia requirement

When it comes to getting your real estate license in Georgia, you want to make sure you have your high school diploma and are at least 18 years of age.

The state of Georgia allows you to sit for the salesperson examination at 17 years of age. However, the license cannot be activated until you are 18.

You must pass a background check and meet one of the following educational requirements:

  • Successfully complete the required 75-hour Salesperson Pre-license Course at a school approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission;

  • Successfully complete a minimum of 10 quarter hours or 6 semester hours of either course work eligible for a major in real estate from a U.S. or Canadian accredited college or university or course in real property, agency, or contracts from a U.S. or Canadian accredited school of law,

  • Submit to AMP (Applied Measurement Professionals, not the Commission) an official transcript from the college, university, or school of law with you application for examination. Continuing education adult education, crash seminars, and special short courses are not acceptable. AMP will notify you as to whether your coursework is acceptable; OR

  • Provide proof of completion of at least 75 hours of prelicense course work approved by the real estate regulatory agency of another state or province of Canada. You must obtain a letter from that agency that verifies that the course work is approved in that state or province.

In the first year of your licensure as a salesperson, you must take a 25-hour salesperson post license course. If you don't complete the post license course during the first year, your license will lapse.

Examination Requirements - Georgia real estate license state requirement

The examination requirements for the Georgia real estate exam are as follows:

  • Successfully pass the examination administered by AMP and approved by the Commission

  • Pay the examination fee of $115.00

  • Apply within twelve months of the date you took the examination; or after twelve months have passed, you must retake the examination

Fee requirements - Georgia real estate license state requirement

The following amount covers all fees due for the first four years of licensure:

  • Applying within 3 months from taking your exam, the fee is $170.00

  • Applying more than three months but less than 12 months from taking your exam, the fee is $340.00

  • Examination fee is $115.00

Continuing education - Georgia real estate license state requirement

At least twenty-four hours of approved continuing education course work must be completed during each four-year renewal period. This is to meet the Continuing Education requirements.

  • If your license number is above 100,000, you'll need to complete 24 hours of Commission approved continuing education during each four-year renewal period

  • If your license number is below 100,000, you will not need to complete continuing education courses

To determine what courses are specific to your license, visit the Georgia Real Estate Commission's continuing education site.

Active/inactive status - Georgia real estate license state requirement

If you have successfully passed your salesperson-licensing exam, you have the option of activating or not activating your license. To activate your license apply to your broker using the Sponsoring Broker Statement Application located in the candidate handbook. Make sure the sponsoring broker signs the application.

If you do not want to activate your license with a broker, you'll still need to pay the licensing fee, meet the post license exam requirements, and pay renewal fees when they're due.

General requirements broker's real estate license in Georgia requirement

When it comes to getting your broker's license in Georgia, you want to make sure you have your high school diploma and are at least 21 years of age.

The state of Georgia allows you to sit for the salesperson examination at 20 years of age. However, the license cannot be activated until you are 21.

You must be licensed as a sales person, pass a background check and meet one of the following educational requirements:

  • Successfully complete the required 60-hour Broker's Pre-license Course at a school approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission

  • Successfully complete a minimum of 15 quarter hours or 9 semester hours of either course work eligible for a major in real estate from a U.S. or Canadian accredited college or university or course in real property, agency, or contracts from a U.S. or Canadian accredited school of law

  • Provide proof of completion of at least 60 hours of prelicense course work approved by the real estate regulatory agency of another state or province of Canada. You must obtain a letter from that agency that verifies that the course work is approved in that state or province.

Examination requirements - Georgia broker license state requirement

  • Successfully pass the examination administered by AMP and approved by the Commission

  • Pay the examination fee of $115.00

Experience requirements - Georgia broker license state requirement

The following are requirements for getting your Georgia broker license:

  • Licensed and on active status for a minimum of three of the previous five years before you can be licensed

  • Actively licensed in Georgia for at least three years and enrolled in a Broker's Pre-license Course at a school approved by the Commission, license history will be verified by Commission when school sends your application

If you have ever held a real estate license in a state other than Georgia, or if you are not fulfilling your prelicense education requirements by taking a Broker's Prelicense Course at a school approved by the Commission, you MUST attach a certification of your license history from the state in which you met the education, examination and experience requirements for licensure with your application.

The license history must be less than one year old and it must show "active" time or dates.

Active/inactive status - Georgia broker's license state requirement

AMP issues only "inactive" brokers licenses. Activate a brokers license by filing an "opening a new firm" or a "change of qualifying broker" application with the Commission.

Whether placing a license in active" or "inactive" status, you must pay the appropriate licensing fee. If you who place a license on inactive status, you must also pay renewal fees when they're due.

Continuing education - Georgia broker's license state requirement

At least twenty-four hours of approved continuing education course work must be completed during each four-year renewal period. This is to meet the Continuing Education requirements.

Good to know

  • Visit the Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP) website to view salesperson and broker exam hours to schedule an exam

  • If you have prior criminal convictions/disciplinary actions in another state you may wish to apply for a preliminary decision from the Commission before you incur the expense of a license. Contact the Commission for the Application for Preliminary Decision Regarding Prior Criminal Conviction(s) or Disciplinary Sanction(s).



© 2015 American School of Real Estate Express, LLC.

Secure Login

 

User Name or Email
Password Forgot Password?