The Top Real Estate License School in America - Online Since 1996.


Know what the Florida Real Estate License State Requirements are before you start taking courses

Real estate license - Florida state requirement

When you're getting your Real Estate License in Florida, you want to make sure you thoroughly understand the licensing requirements. Every state is different so if you're interested in getting licensed across different states, be sure to carefully review the requirements for Florida. Visit Florida's Real Estate Commission (FREC) site to learn more about the specific real estate license requirements.

Over 47,000 students in Florida have used Real Estate Express online pre-license and exam prep courses to get their licenses. Our real estate and exam prep courses are designed with Florida's state requirements in mind. The state of Florida has specific requirements for real estate agent and brokers' licenses and we make sure our online real estate license courses meet the requirements for Florida.

Requirements - real estate sales license Florida requirement

When it comes to getting your real estate license in Florida, you want to make sure you have your high school diploma or a GED and are at least 18 years of age. Additionally, you must meet the following education requirements:

  • Successfully complete 63 classroom-hours of pre-licensing courses

  • Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and the fee

  • Pass the Florida Real Estate Sales Associate Examination with a grade of at least 75 or pass the Florida Real Estate Law Exam with a grade of at least 30

  • Activate your license using the DBPR RE 11-Become Active - Sales Associate or Broker Sales Associate form OR

  • Have the broker activate your new license online using the broker's online account

  • Successfully complete post-licensing course for sales associate consisting of at least 45 classroom-hours, before your initial sales license expires

Even if your license is inactive, you'll still need to complete the post-licensing course before the license expires. You'll need at least 45 classroom hours.

Brokers requirements - real estate license Florida requirement

To get your broker's license in the state of Florida, you will need to meet the following broker requirements:

  • Have an active real estate sales associate license AND

  • Have 24 months of real estate experience during the 5 year period before you became a licensed broker or real estate sales associate

  • If you have a Florida real estate sales associate license, you must fulfill the sales associate post-licensing education requirement before getting your broker's license

  • If you have a Florida sales associate license, you are not exempt from the sales associate post-licensing course

  • Complete a 72-hour pre-licensing course for brokers

  • Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and the fee

  • Pass the Florida Real Estate Broker Examination with a grade of at least 75

  • Submit a completed DBPR RE 13 Broker Transactions form so your license can be activated

  • If you don't submit the broker transactions form, your license will be issued as inactive

  • Successfully complete a 60-hour post-licensing course for brokers. This must be completed before your broker's license expires.

Continuing education - for real estate sales agents and brokers in Florida

You'll need to renew your license every two years. You'll also need to complete at least of 14 hours of real estate continuing education. Within 60 days of your license expiring, you should receive a renewal license in the mail.

If your license is not renewed then it will be considered inactive.

Jurisdiction requirements - real estate license Florida requirement

  • If you are a broker who has real estate experience in another state, you may apply your real estate experience toward a Florida real estate broker license

  • Your real estate sales or broker license must be active for at least 24 months during the preceding 5 years

  • If you want to claim experience from a jurisdiction other than Florida, send your application and attach the current certification. Make sure it's not more than 30 days old and it's from the correct licensing authority.

If you have any questions about the continuing education requirements, contact the Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation, Division of Real Estate at 850-487-1395.

Good to know

  • If you are an active member in good standing with The Florida Bar and you are otherwise qualified under the real estate license law, then you are exempt from the prerequisite real estate sales associate and continuing education courses.

  • Real estate and broker courses are valid for two years after the course completion date

  • If you have a permanent physical disability, you may qualify for a correspondence pre-licensing course. Visit the Florida Administrative Code & Florida Administrative Register website for questions about disability and real estate examination.

Take 25% off pre-licensing courses only! Hurry, offer expires 10/11/15.
Expires 10/11
Use promo code OCT2015 at checkout

© 2015 American School of Real Estate Express, LLC.

Secure Login


User Name or Email
Password Forgot Password?