Know what the Colorado Real Estate License State Requirements are before you start taking courses
Broker's license - Colorado state requirement
When you're getting your broker's license in Colorado, you want to make sure you thoroughly understand the licensing requirements. Every state is different so if you're interested in getting licensed across different states, be sure to carefully review the requirements for Colorado. Visit Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies, Division of Real Estate site to learn more about the specific real estate license requirements.
Thousands of people in Colorado have used Real Estate Express' online pre-license and exam prep courses to get their licenses. Our real estate and exam prep courses are designed with Colorado's state requirements in mind. The state of Colorado has specific requirements for real estate agent and brokers' licenses and we make sure our online real estate license courses meet the requirements for Colorado.
General requirements - real estate license Colorado requirement
When it comes to getting your real estate license in Colorado, you want to make sure you complete a minimum of 168 hours of pre-licensing education and pass both the state and national portion of the Colorado Real Estate Broker Exam.
You, must complete the following education requirements:
If you already hold a real estate broker license in another state or jurisdiction or if you're a licensed attorney, then the pre-licensing education and examination requirements will vary. You can check the education and examination requirements for a new Colorado broker license, by reviewing the license qualifications grid. This grid will help you determine your educational requirements.
Scheduling your exam - real estate license Colorado requirement
Once you've completed the required education requirement (if applicable), it's time to schedule your exam. The current exam vendor for the Colorado Division of Real Estate is PSI. To make an exam reservation, please visit PSI's website or call PSI's Candidate Care Center at (800) 733-9267. Only qualified applicants may sit for the exam, and you will be required to sign an affidavit of exam eligibility at the exam site.
Exam Score Expiration Criteria
Please note that you must submit your new license application within one year of the successful completion of your examination requirement. Your application must be received by the Division of Real Estate prior to the one-year anniversary of the successful completion of each portion of your exam.
Required continuing education - real estate license Colorado requirement
As the real estate industry changes, you'll need to stay on top of the trends, laws, contract changes and practice requirements. All active real estate brokers need to complete 24 hours of continuing education during each 3 year license cycle.
12 of the 24 hours must be comprised of 3 different versions of the 4 hour Annual Commission Update Course. The remaining 12 hours can be any combination of elective credit hours approved by the
Annual commission update course - real estate license Colorado requirement
Every year the Commission develops a 4 hour Annual Commission Update Course that covers important information about recent regulatory changes and practice issues. All active real estate brokers are required to attend the course each year and pass the exam.
Because the course has important information about current statutes and rules promulgated by the Commission it is strongly encourage all real estate brokers to attend the course early in the calendar year. The Annual Commission Update Course is taught by a number of education providers including real estate schools, brokerages, realtor boards, etc.
Alternatives to the 24 hours - real estate license Colorado requirement
The Annual Commission Update courses are mandatory. Once the course year has passed, you will need to investigate alternative ways to meet the continuing education requirements. These options include completing the following:
Inactive license - real estate license Colorado requirement
If your license has been inactive for longer than 3 years/36 months, then you must complete either the State portion of the Colorado Broker's Exam or 48 Hours in Colorado Contracts & Regulations and 24 hours in Real Estate Closings for a total of 72 hours.
If you have any questions about the continuing education requirements, please call (303) 894-2166 or visit the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies, Division of Real Estate website.
Good to know