Discover the Arkansas real estate license state requirements before you apply. Know exactly what courses are required to get your real estate license.
Real estate license | Arkansas state requirement
When you're getting your real estate license in Arkansas, you want to make sure you thoroughly understand the licensing requirements. Every state is different so if you're interested in getting licensed across different states, be sure to carefully review the requirements for Arkansas. Visit the Arkansas Real Estate Commission (AREC) site to learn more about the specific real estate license requirements.
Successful real estate agents and brokers in Arkansas have used Real Estate Express online pre-license and exam prep courses to get their licenses. Our real estate and exam prep courses are designed with Arkansas' state requirements in mind. The state of Arkansas has specific requirements for real estate agent and brokers' licenses and we make sure our online real estate license courses meet the requirements for Arkansas.
Salesperson requirements - real estate license Arkansas requirement
When it comes to getting your real estate license in Arkansas, you need to be 18 years of age and successfully complete 60 hours of real estate classroom education. 30 of those classroom hours must be in the basic principles of real estate. Additionally, you must meet the following education requirements:
Broker pre-license education requirements - real estate license Arkansas requirement
If you're interested in getting your broker's license in Arkansas, you must be at least 18 years old andsuccessfully complete 60 hours of real estate education. 45 of the 60 hours must be of the commission developed Broker Pre-License Education course. You have 36 months from the time you apply to take your broker's exam to sit for your broker's exam.
You'll also need to meet the following requirements:
* The experience requirement may be waived if you were licensed for at least 18 months within another jurisdiction and you met that jurisdiction's licensing requirements. You'll need to provide an official license from the jurisdiction. This needs to be a written request.
* The Arkansas Real Estate Commission will also accept a license if you have acceptable experience within a related real estate field. Make sure this experience falls within 24 of the previous 48-month period immediately preceding the date of the application. This must be a written request.
Applying if you're currently licensed in another state - real estate license Arkansas requirement
If you are currently licensed in another state and you want to get your license in Arkansas, then you can request a waiver of general portion of the exam. This only applies if you are a real estate salesperson requesting a salesperson license or a broker requesting a broker's license. To take only the Arkansas law portion of the exam, you'll need to meet the following requirements:
Application information - real estate license Arkansas requirementAREC will accept your application for the for real estate license examination before you complete the 60 pre-licensing course.
Be sure you submit proof of completing the education requirement before to receiving eligibility to sit for the real estate exam. AREC issues the Certificate of Eligibility for Examination only after receiving both the application information and the education certificate.
The criminal background reports must be received by the Arkansas Real Estate Commission before the Real Estate Commission will issue the license.
If you want to get your real estate salesperson or broker license, then you'll need to complete a state and federal criminal background check. The federal criminal background check requires you to provide fingerprints on fingerprint cards provided by AREC. This applies to both resident and nonresident applicants.
The Arkansas State Police will conduct the criminal background check, including the FBI check. The ASP will take your fingerprints and submit the report to the Commission.
To process your application, the following needs to be sent to the AREC:
Renewing your license - Arkansas requirement
Renew your license online. The license number and your date of birth are required to log into the AREC's site. The costs are as follows:
Continuing education - real estate license Arkansas requirement
The following requirements must be met in order to meet AREC's continuing education requirements:
Reciprocal States – salesperson and broker license Arkansas
Arkansas currently recognizes real estate salesperson or broker licenses from the following states:
If you have any questions about the continuing education requirements, please contact the Arkansas Real Estate Commission, 501-683-8010 or visit their website.
Good to know