If you are a Broker and this is your FIRST renewal, you must complete a 30-hour Post license course and pass the course final exam prior to the first renewal of your
license. The 30-hour Post license course consists of 2 components: 15-hour Broker Post License Topics AND 15-hour Broker Post License Applied Real Estate Practices course (in classroom or
interactive only). To register for our online 15-hour Broker Post License Topics course, click here.
If you are a newly transitioned or previously licensed Brokers (who did not transition to the Managing Broker license), you must complete 12 hours of Continuing Education every 2 years consisting of the following:
Managing Brokers Who TRANSITIONED their license:
If you are a Managing Broker who transitioned by completing the 45 hour Transition Course, you must complete:
Managing Brokers Licensed ON or AFTER 5/1/2011 by completing 45 hour Managing Broker education AND passing the state licensing examination (NOT BY TRANSITION) you must complete:
Managing Broker continuing education must be completed prior to April 30 odd-numbered years.
Illinois Proctor Policy
The State of Illinois requires that the Course Final Exam for this course be Proctored. In order to successfully complete the prelicense course, students must take and score a minimum of 75% on a proctored final examination administered by a previously approved proctor. Complete information concerning the proctor policy is included in your course materials. We must verify each proctor that is reported. If you do not use an approved proctor when you test, your result will not be accepted and you will lose that exam. You will have to take the test again with a proctor from the list provided. If you have used all of the available final exams, you will be required to reset your exams and retake that part of your course (exam reset fees apply). Generally, public libraries do not charge to proctor exams, while most universities, colleges and learning centers will charge anywhere from $5 - $100. You are responsible for any proctoring fees associated with having your final exam proctored. IMPORTANT: If you are taking CE courses, you must pass one of the two available exams in the presence of a proctor, to complete your course and receive a completion certificate. If you fail the first exam, you must take the second available exam within 30 days. If you do not pass either one of the two available final exams, Illinois law requires that you retake your course.